2011 Great Midwestern Space Grant Regional Meeting
Department of Aerospace Engineering
University of Illinois
Urbana-Champaign, IL
October 4-5, 2011

iHotel Conference-Center
iHotel Conference-Center

Beckman Engineering Quad
Beckman Engineering Quad
Grainger Engineering Library
Grainger Engineering Library
University of Illinois - UC Quad
The Quad

The 2011 Great Midwestern Regional Space Grant Consortia Meeting was held at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on October 4-5, 2011. The Great Midwestern Space Grant Consortia and their affiliates represented the nine states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin.


This year's meeting featured a number of regional faculty presentations, a regional state Space Grant consortium director's presentation, and a presentation by the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program Manager, Ms. Diane DeTroye.

Regional Faculty Presentations:

        "Self-Healing Materials"
        Dr. Scott White, Willett Professor of Aerospace Engineering
        University of Illinois, Urbana -Champaign

        "Multifunctional Polymer Matrix Composites"
        Dr. Michael Kessler, Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
        Iowa State University

        "Fluid Mechanics of Volcanic Eruptions"
        Dr. Joanna Austin, Professor of Aerospace Engineering
        University of Illinois, Urbana -Champaign

        "Creating & Sustaining Engineering Design Teams When There's No Such Thing as a Free Launch"
        Dr. Michael Swartwout, Assistant Professor of Aerospace Engineering
        Saint Louis University

Regional State Space Grant Consortium Director's Presentation:

        "My 50 Years in Aerospace"
        Dr. Gary Slater, Professor and Director of the Ohio Space Grant Consortium
        Department of Aerospace Engineering & Engineering Mechanics
        University of Cincinnati

All meeting program events were held at the iHotel and Conference Center. There were also a tours of campus research facillities.

Click here to view the meeting agenda.

Student Poster Competition

The 2011 Great Midwestern Space Grant Region's Annual Student Poster Presentation Competition and Evening Poster Reception was held at the meeting for both undergraduate and graduate students. To be eligible to participate, students must have received some support by any of the Space Grant consortia in the region. The following prizes were awarded:

1st Place - $500: Lauren LeStourgeon - ILSGC - DePaul University

2nd Place - $250: Ryan Merriman, ILSGC - University of Ilinois - Urbana-Champaign

3rd Place - $100: Mitch Rock, IASGC - Iowa State University
1st Place - $500:Christopher Ostoich - ILSGC - University of Ilinois - Urbana-Champaign

2nd Place - $250: Christopher Davies - INSGC - Purdue University

3rd Place - $100: J. Eliseo De León - IASGC - Iowa State University

For more information please contact:

        Stephen Haug, Manager
        Missouri Space Grant Consortium


        Diane Jeffers, Associate Director
        Illinois Space Grant Consortium

Go to the MOSGC home page
Learn more about the MOSGC
Learn about Space Grant Student Opportunities
Current and Recent Programs and Projects
Student Projects and Achievements
MOSGC Student Reports and Abstracts
Relevant Links
News Headlines
MOSGC Alumni Contact Page
Consortium Contact Information