Dr. Daniel Tauritz - Cyber Security Sciences Institute - Natural Computation Laboratory - Department of Computer Science - Missouri University of Science and Technology

Academic Profile

[Picture] Dr. Daniel Tauritz is Associate Professor with Tenure and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies and Outreach Activities in the Department of Computer Science at Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T), formerly University of Missouri-Rolla (UMR). He is the director of the Natural Computation Laboratory (NC-LAB), a Research Investigator in the Intelligent Systems Center, and an Investigator in the Energy Research & Development Center. He previously was a guest scientist at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) and is the founding academic director of the LANL/S&T Cyber Security Sciences Institute (CSSI). He also is a contract scientist for Sandia National Laboratories where he was on sabbatical during the 2014-2015 academic year.

His primary research interests are the Automated Design of Algorithm employing Hyper-Heuristics, and Evolutionary Computing, in particular their use as robust solvers for real-world problem solving, with an emphasis on applications in the cyber domain, ranging from adversarial models in cyber (physical) security to evolving graph algorithms to the automated design of SAT solver heuristics.

Recent events he was involved in include:

  • Co-Chair, 8th Workshop on Evolutionary Computation for the Automated Design of Algorithms (ECADA) @GECCO 2018
  • Co-Instructor, Hyper-heuristics Tutorial @GECCO 2018
  • He teaches a two-course sequence on Evolutionary Computing and a two-course sequence on Artificial Intelligence, and is the course coordinator for the freshman Discrete Mathematics for Computer Science course. He is also the faculty advisor for both ACM SIG-Security and ACM SIG-Game.

    Full CV (PDF) Last revised November 4, 2018

    Single Integrated Core Research Quad Chart (PDF) Last revised November 6, 2018

    Core Research Quad Charts (PDF) Last revised May 6, 2016