History of the Organization

In 1979 the American Nuclear Society inititated a National Honor Society for Nuclear Science and Engineering called Alpha Nu Sigma under the direction of John Lamarsh to honor outstanding students in nuclear science and engineering. The constitution states the objectives and motto of the organization as follows:

	"The objective of the Alpha Nu Sigma Society shall be to
	recognize high scholarship, integrity, and potential achievement
	in applied nuclear science and nuclear engineering among
	outstanding students by means of membership in the society."

The motto of Alpha Nu Sigma is "Energy Newly Born Through Wisdom."
The colors: RED and GOLD.

There are currently 27 local chapters with more than 1700 members in the United States.

New Member Induction

New members are inducted into the society at the end of every semester. Under regulations of the constitution, juniors in the top quarter, seniors in the top third, and graduate students in the top third of their respective groups are eligable for selection into the society.

The 2014-15 Newly Elected Officers

President: Steven Wessels

Vice-President: Michael Pride

Secretary: Mihn-Thuy Nguyen

Treasurer: Conner O’Dea

Advisor: Dr. Shoaib Usman

Alpha Nu Sigma
102 Fulton Hall
University of Missouri - Rolla
Rolla, Missouri 65401