Rutledge-Emerson Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor of Department of Computer Science

 Site Director of NSF I/UCRC on Intelligent Maintenance Systems

Director, Embedded Control Systems and Networking Laboratory

Missouri University of Science and Technology

222 Emerson Electric Co. Hall    301 West 16th Street    Rolla, MO 65409-0040

Tel: (573) 341-6775; Fax: (573) 341-4532. Email: sarangap@umr.edu, www.mst.edu/~sarangap


AREAS OF INTEREST: Systems & Control, Intelligent Control, Control applications to Robotics, Embedded Control, Computer/Wireless/Sensor Networks, Diagnostics & Prognostics


EDUCATION:    Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering (1/92-8/94)                 

                             Automation and Robotics Research Institute, University of Texas

                                Specialization: Intelligent & Embedded Control of Robotics

                                Awards: University Doctoral Fellowship Recipient (1/92-8/93)

                                                 Rudolf Hermanns Graduate Fellowship holder (9/93-8/94)

                                                 University Scholars Fellow (1/92-8/94)

                                                 NSF Research Grant Scholar (2/92-08/94)

                                                 Doctoral Research Award Recipient of Sigma Xi International Research  Society (4/94)

                                Master of Science (9/87-12/89); GPA 85%

                                University of Saskatchewan at Saskatoon, Canada

                                Specialization: Embedded Systems and Robotics

                                Awards: University of Saskatchewan Summer Graduate Fellowship holder


                                Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (7/82-8/86); GPA 85.5%

                                Anna University at Madras, India

                                Specialization: Embedded Systems and Robotics

                                Awards: University Gold Medallist (82-86)

                                                 National Merit Scholar (82-86)

                                                 Won IEEE best student paper contest (85)


·         Engineers Make a Difference Award in 2008

·         Boeing Pride Achievement Award 2007

·         Faculty Excellence Award 2005-2006, 2006-2007

·         Outstanding Counselor Award for St. Louis (06, 07) and Region 5 in 2006 and Outstanding IEEE Student Branch Award (06, 07)

·         Teaching Commendation Award in 2005, Commended for Teaching in 2007

·         Caterpillar Research Excellence Award in 2001

·         The University of Texas Presidential Award for Research Excellence in 2001

·         NSF CAREER Award (2000)

·         UTSA Faculty Research Award (2000)

·         Outstanding IEEE Branch Counsellor Award for St. Louis and Region 5

·         Teaching Commendation Award

·         Caterpillar Research Excellence Award

·         The University of Texas Presidential Award for Research Excellence in 2001

·         NSF CAREER Award (2000)

·         UTSA Faculty Research Award (2000)

·         Elevated to Sr. Member of IEEE in 1999

·         Received “Patent Award” from Automation and Robotics Research Institute (Dec.96)

·         Cited in Marquis Who’s Who (Science, Engineering, Finance, World, America) continuously from 1998 till do date.

·         Twentieth Century Award for Achievement—International Biographical Center, Cambridge, UK.


·         Recipient of Papu Subbarao Medal for the best machine design (May 86)

·         Awarded Gold Medal for being a State Ranker (Dec. 80)

·         Received Silver Medal from International Rotary Foundation for being best student (Dec. 80)


EDITORIAL:      a) Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology (2004-2009)

                              b) Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks (2005-2009)

                               c) Associate Editor, IEEE Journal on Systems Engineering (2007-present)

   d) Editorial Board Member and Steering Committee, International Journal of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering (ASCE)

   e) Member, Technical Committee on Intelligent Control