a Missouri Space Grant Consortium
Publications: 2010-2011
For complete student reports, contact Dr. Stephen Haug

2010-2011 MOSGC Student Report Abstracts
  • Natalie Accardo, IRIS: A MoonRise Student Collaboration Project
  • Justin Aholt, Active Flow Control Strategy of Laminar Separation Bubbles Developed over Subsonic Airfoils at Low Reynolds Numbers
  • Jocelyn Bailey, Geometry and Aeroshell Optimization of Reentry Capsules Using a Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Framework
  • Jennifer Bean, Differential CCD Photometry of Yellow Supergiant Stars
  • Alison Beehr, Synthetic Iron Phyllosilicates as Analogs for Martian Phyllosilicates
  • Jasmine Berg, Microbial Characterization of White Mats in a Hydrothermally-Influenced, Sulfur-Rich Brine Pool
  • Steven Berg, Investigation of Monopropellant and Bipropellant Capabilities of Energetic Ionic Liquids for Dual Mode Spacecraft Propulsion
  • Matthew Boraas, Investigation of Monopropellant and Bipropellant Capabilities of Energetic Ionic Liquids for Dual Mode Spacecraft Propulsion Generation of D2-Loaded, Spark-Generated, Pd Nano-Particles
  • Andrew Brune,Aerodynamic Heating Analysis of Hypersonic Cruise Vehicles in Conceptual Design
  • Josiah Bryan, Maximum-Range Trajectories for an Unpowered Reusable Launch Vehicle
  • Darnell Cage, Numerical Simulations and Experimental Evaluation of Heat Transfer Performance of Improved Cryogenic Vials for Cryopreservation
  • Ashlynn Conner, Defects in Semiconductors
  • Andrew Cooper, The Role of AGN in the Major Merging Process
  • Mona Dai, Methane in Comet C/2002 T7 (LINEAR)
  • Matthew Dennis, Production Rates and Spin Temperatures of Volatiles in Comet C/2007 N3 (Lulin)
  • Kristen Erickson, Shaping A Star Cluster: The Initial Mass Function for the Rho Ophiuchi Cloud
  • Stephanie Evans, Testing and Integration of a Cold Gas Propulsion System for Microsatellite Applications
  • Laurel Farris, Using Differential CCD Photometry to Search For Variability in Yellow Supergiants
  • Tudor Foote, Power Generation from a Wind Turbine in a Solar Chimney
  • Emily Fry, CASA's 2011 Outreach Program: Aerospace Extravaganza!
  • Bradley Gerling, Proper Motion Study of Water Masers Associated with the Young Star Haro 6-10
  • Justin Gilker, The Baker Observatory Subminute Survey
  • Angela Gugliano, Discovering Maximum, Efficient Power and Promoting Strong Outreach
  • Aaron Hathaway, Discovering Maximum, Effect Of Condensing Temperature On An Uneven Turn OHP
  • Lee Hicks, Streamline & Automation of Image Reduction
  • Jennifer Hoffman, Missouri Satellite Team - Thermal System
  • Melissa Holtmeyer, Fundamental Flame Studies Applied to Oxy-Fuel Combustion of Biomass and Coal to Reduce Pollutant Formation
  • Cory Honer, Preparation of an Ultra-high Vacuum Chamber for Growth of Methane and Argon Ices
  • Thomas Hulsey, Design and Manufacturing of a Triple Langmuir Probe for Plasma Diagnostics
  • Christopher Jost, Synthesis and Characterization of Nanoporous Carbon
  • John Keller, Age Distributions of Low Mass Stars in the Rho Ophiuchi and Upper Scorpius Associations
  • Danielle Kozlowski, Bradley Zavodsky, and Gary Jedlovec, Demonstrating the Operational Value of Thermodynamic Hyperspectral Profiles in the Pre-convective Environment
  • Whitney Lewis,Design, Construction, and Calibration of a Three-Axis Magnetic Field Probe
  • Hao Lin, Modeling of Parametric Excitation
  • Tim Mason, E.H. Majzoub, First-principles Study of Novel Conversion Reactions for High-capacity Li-ion Battery Anodes
  • David McKinnon, Energy Deposition as a Compression Mechanism for High Speed Air Breathing Engines
  • Carl Merrigan and Brett Whisler, Effective-Interfacial-Tension-Induced Convection:A Planned Suborbital Experiment
  • Alicia Metzger, Lithological Analysis of the Descartes Region Using Moon Mineralogy Data
  • Joseph Neal, LH2 Fill and Drain Line Simulator Purge
  • Joseph Neal, Development of Intrinsic Thermocouple Arrays
  • Janese Neher, Development of the Women In Nuclear-Next Evolutionary Revolutionary Scientists (WINNERS)
  • Luke Nowicki, Cratering on the Icy Satellites of the Outer Solar System
  • C. P. Orth and V. S. Solomatov, Interpretation of Gravity and Topography on Venus in the Isostatic Stagnant Lid Approximation
  • Elim Ortiz, Single Palladium Langmuir Probe
  • David Peaslee, Direct Line-of-site Gas Desorption Study of LiBH4 in Nanoporous Carbons: The Size Effect
  • Amanda Quin, Finding Period Spacings of Subdwarf B Stars Using the Kepler Satellite
  • Nathaniel Richie, Development of Hybrid Composite Bi-Polar Plates for Hydrogen Fuel Cells
  • Rosaura Salinas, Synthesis of Tin Oxide Branching Nanostructures by Carbothermal Reduction Process
  • Tyler Sanders, Physiological Plasticity of Ectotherms in a Changing Environment
  • Katherine Shirley, Searching for Gypsum in the Martian North Polar Dunes
  • Jake Spillar, High Efficiency Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells
  • Benjamin Spott, Photobioreactors for Algal Growth Utilizing Coal Flue Gas As A Carbon Source
  • Yafer Suarez, Corrosion Resistance of Platinum Thin Films on Structural Materials
  • Emily Sudholt, A Study of Water in Comet C2007 N3 (Lulin)
  • Matthew Thompson, Automated Detection of Variable Stars
  • Lauren Van Dyke, Dynamic Modeling and Soil Mechanics for Path Planning of Mars Exploration Rovers
  • Cory Wagner, Axis Ratio of Red Galaxies Since z=1
  • Charlotte Weinstein, Isotopic Fractionation of Cu by life and in Iron Meteorites
  • Denis Wisniewski, Methods and Issues in Development of Al-UV Mirrors
  • Zheming Zhang, Optimization of ETRW (Energy Liberated During a Flight/Revenue Work Done) of an Airplane for Minimizing its Environmental Impact
  • David Zidar, Investigation of the Channel Wall Surface Properties of a Hall-effect Thruster
  • Missouri S&T Advanced Aero Vehicle Group, 2011 SAE Aero Design Competition
  • Missouri S&T Advanced Aero Vehicle Group, 2011 NASA University Student Launch Initiative Design Competition
  • Allison Cook, Maria Barna, Steve Massey, Tyler Olson, Gerrit Smith, COPPER CubeSat
  • Greg Keogh, Sean Holder, Jesus Dominguez, and Alex Shim, Combat Robotics Competition: "Arch Enemy"
  • Kerry Fessenden, Joseph Maccio, Brian McDaniel, and Thomas Muntaner, MR LEO: Incidental Science CubeSat in Low Earth Orbit
  • Amare Assefa, Shane Bernard, Ian Condon, Jordan Griffith, Michael Jones, Alexis Morris, Erin Sanders, and Danielle Zemmel, Enhancing the Multidisciplinary Astrobiology Research Community at Truman State University
  • Emily Sudholt, Rosaura Salinas, and Robert Dobynes, UMSL Fifth Grade Astronomy Outreach Program
  • Go to the MOSGC home page
    Learn more about the MOSGC
    Learn about Space Grant Student Opportunities
    Current and Recent Programs and Projects
    Student Projects and Achievements
    MOSGC Student Reports and Abstracts
    Relevant Links
    News Headlines
    MOSGC Alumni Contact Page
    Consortium Contact Information